Help building a 360 camera system - Chevy Trax Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 02-02-2017, 12:27 AM Thread Starter

(Thread Starter)
Question Help building a 360 camera system

Hello there,

I'm new in modding a car and would like to know a little bit more about adding electronics to one. I have a 2014 Trax (Tracker) and I'm planning on adding 4 170º cameras + 8 parking sensors to the car in order to add some live obstacle and parking assistance.

Since I know little about cars, I'm looking for help in that part. Currently the only thing I've done to the car is remove the stock radio cover and connect a tablet in front of it like the photo attached. The radio still works and I get the tablet audio (Spotify) using the AUX in the dash.

Now, I got the cameras and the sensors and will be adding a Raspberry Pi and a DVR (to convert the cameras from analog to digital). The DVR uses 12v at 2amps and the pi is 5v 1amp.

What's the best way to supply power to these things? I was thinking about buying an inverter but I'm not sure how to power everything else.

For the cameras, is it possible for them to always have the 12v? I have read that the reverse cameras get the power from the reverse lights but I need these to be transmitting image as long as the car is ON.

For the DVR, Is it possible to get the 12v for the inverter from the trunk? The plan is to have everything back there since I'll be adding a more powerful computer later for Computer Vision.

Thanks guys!
post #2 of 4 Old 02-02-2017, 12:30 AM Thread Starter

(Thread Starter)
Photo attached
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2017-02-02 at 12.24.30 AM.png (314.0 KB, 7 views)
post #3 of 4 Old 02-03-2017, 04:16 PM