1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What I bought: no-name Android 10 powered head unit from Wostars

where I got it: Amazon

price I paid: about $180 shipped

First off, and to be fair to Wostars, all I really wanted was Mirrorlink. I realized the built-in navigation would come with complex and hard-to-use connectivity (this is not my first Chinese off-brand head unit), there would still be no CD or DVD capabilities, and for the price, I wasn’t expecting anything high end. It took about 10 days to receive the package, which from what I hear, is lightening speed considering it came from Hong Kong. I opened the package immediately, and made my first installation attempt the next day. Mind you, I’m an experienced installer and pretty tech-savvy for a middle-aged man, so the ridiculous installation manual didn’t bother me (it was a page and a half, and translated by a four year old with Turrets Syndrome). What did complicate things, was that they sent the wrong wiring harness (which also happened to @Traxy when he ordered his). This caused concern because, given this vehicle is literally the only one this radio will fit in, I would think a company with any kind of quality control would have known this.
So 3 and a half weeks later, I finally have the correct harness and I now have the unit installed. The factory GPS was as horrible as I expected, and I still have no idea how to change the temperature to Fahrenheit, but everything seemed to work ok (aside from the backup camera, but I knew that going in).
Then I tested the one thing I actually bought it for. I plugged my iPhone 12 into the USB cord, and opened the companion app as instructed by the horrible owners manual. My phone screen flashed on the HU screen, then an error message came across saying “Unregistered” and everything went black. This leads me to believe this company pirated the app, and that in the US, it cannot be used. Long story short, no Mirrorlink.