Chevy Trax Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All - I have a 2020 Trax LS AWD that I purchased new at the end of August. The manual says to change the oil at 7500 miles (I believe) however I have always changed oil between 3000 and 3500 miles. I have about 3600 miles now and called the dealer about the first oil change. They said that they only use synthetic oil (which is $59.99 for the oil change) and that new, they used synthetic oil at the factory. Bottom line - they told me to only change the oil and filter every 6 months (which I can't see under most conditions) or every 6000 miles. I drive 5 days per week, about half highway each day.
Should I wait and change every 6000, or would you recommend I change more frequently? I plan to keep this car as long as possible. Your thoughts are appreciated!
TY Bill

·
Super Moderator
1,928 Posts
Well I'm an expert on synthetic. If you look at the oil Jug they suggest changing at every 12000 miles and I agree with them except that is under normal conditions, GM says every 6000 miles. Use only synthetic in your 1.4l turbo. So if you use synthetic in your vehicle you can absolutely follow the oil monitor if it's a daily driver. Now I which I was able to read between the lines for the filter part. Since I'm not educated enough to understand the omission I choose to still change the filter after 3000 miles. When they were talking dyno oil they said oil and filter after 3000 miles, now they say if you use synthetic change oil at 6000 miles no mention of filter. They are not saying not to change filter at 3000 miles. So halfway through around 55% I change the filter and use a synthetic filter since I only go down to 10% . I change it again when I change the oil. Down to 10% there is usually over 13000kms or ( 8000 miles )

Hope this helps. Been using synthetic since my 1983 S10. Amzoil back then, but now most synthetic oils meet or exceed.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3